PDA

View Full Version : Partying in Japan FAQ : where are the gaijin-friendly clubs and bars ?



Maciamo
Mar 19, 2010, 17:54
Minimum age

Firstly, you will need to be 20 years old to enter most night clubs or bars in Japan. 20 is the minimum legal age to smoke or drink alcohol. Even Izakaya (restaurants serving alcohol) won't let people under 20 in, so unless you lie about your age and are lucky enough to be believed without being asked for an ID, you won't get in a night club before that age.

Where to go clubbing in Tokyo ?

The most popular areas for partying for young Tokyoites and foreigners alike are Shibuya and Roppongi (+ nearby Nishi-Azabu). This is where international parties are most often held, and the establishment most accustomed to dealing with gaijin are found.

In Shibuya you will find :

Night-clubs

- Gaspanic (http://www.gaspanic.co.jp/)
- La Fabrique (http://www.lafabrique.jp/)
- Womb (http://www.womb.co.jp/) (techno, house)
- Air Tokyo (http://www.air-tokyo.com/) (techno, house)
- Club Asia (http://asia.iflyer.jp/venue/)

Bars and gaijin hang-outs

- Seco Bar (http://secobar.jp/)
- Kissa Ginza (http://www15.ocn.ne.jp/~ginza/) (hip-hop, jazz, electro)
- Sonoma restaurant (http://www.sonomatokyo.com/)
- Hobgoblin Pub (http://www.hobgoblin.jp/)

As for Roppongi's night-life :

Night-clubs

- Gaspanic (http://www.gaspanic.co.jp/) (again)
- Super-Deluxe (http://www.super-deluxe.com/)
- Newlex-Edo (http://www.newlex-edo.com/)
- Club Harlem (http://www.harlem.co.jp/harlem/) (hip hop)
- alife (http://www.e-alife.net/) (hip hop)
- Warehouse702 (http://www.warehouse702.com/) (house, techno and more)
- Muse (http://www.muse-web.com/)
- Club Vanilla (http://www.clubvanilla.com)
- Velfarre (http://velfarre.avex.co.jp/)
- Bullet's (http://www.bul-lets.com/)
- Eleven (http://www.go-to-eleven.com/)

Bars and gaijin hang-outs

- El Café Latino (http://www.elcafelatino.com/) (salsa bar)
- Billboard Live (http://www.billboard-live.com/) (jazz venue)
- Fiesta Roppongi (http://www.fiesta-roppongi.com/) (karaoke bar)
- Bar Isn't it (http://isnt-it.com/)
- Geronimo shot bar (http://www.geronimoshotbar.com/)
- Mogambo Café/URL]
- [URL="http://www.castillo-tokyo.com/"]Castillo (http://www.mogambo.net/) (70's & 80's bar)
- Paddy Foley's (http://www.paddyfoleystokyo.com/) (Tokyo's first and most famous Irish pub)
- Tokyo Sports Café/URL]
- [URL="http://www.hobgoblin.jp/"]Hobgoblin Pub (http://www.tokyo-sportscafe.com/)


The night-life scene is by no means restricted to these two areas. One of the biggest and coolest places is Ageha (http://www.ageha.com/) in Shin-Kiba (East Tokyo).

Other places in Tokyo :

- Genius (http://geniustokyo.jp/) in Ginza
- Club 251 (http://www.club251.co.jp/) in Shimokitazawa
- Jazz Spot "J" (http://www.jazzspot-j.com/) in Shinjuku